EN | FR

EXHIBITIONS

15 — 30 . 10 . 2013 | EXTRA-MUROS

ONGOING | JACQUES CALLOT

OLGA DE AMARAL

 

UPCOMING | FAIRS

2017

THE ARMORY SHOW NEW YORK

 

PAST

OLGA DE AMARAL

Selected Works | Louise Blouin Foundation | London

Galerie Agnès Monplaisir is pleased to present the Colombian artist Olga de Amaral, for her solo and very first London exhibition at the Louise Blouin Foundation, one which shows an exemplary selection of works from the last decade and a half that testify to Amaral’s accomplishments in the course of her distinguished career.

Seamlessly integrating art, textile technics, and design into the fabric structures of her works, Olga employs a range of materials, from silver and gold leaf to brightly coloured pigments and gesso, all of which refer to the landscape and cultural history of Colombia.

Sometimes bright, colourful, reflective and biomorphic, while at other times muted, dark, absorptive and geometric, these works exhibit the same capacity for creating the perception of infinite space found in the works of Modernist painters of the last century, from Kandinsky and Malevich to Reinhardt and Rothko.

Olga de Amaral’s art is internationally known and collected by major museums, corporations and private collectors. Amaral has exhibited in many institutions worldwide and her work is represented in the collections of over forty museums including: The Art Institute of Chicago, the Museum of Modern Art and the Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York.

FR | EN

EXPOSITIONS

15 — 30 . 10 . 2013 | HORS LES MURS

EN COURS

JACQUES CALLOT

OLGA DE AMARAL

 

À VENIR | SALONS

2017

THE ARMORY SHOW NEW YORK

 

ARCHIVES

OLGA DE AMARAL

Selected Works | Louise Blouin Foundation | Londres

La Galerie Agnès Monplaisir est heureuse de présenter à la Fondation Louise Blouin, l’artiste colombienne Olga de Amaral, pour une rétrospective et sa toute première exposition à Londres. À travers une sélection exemplaire parmi les œuvres de ces derniers 15 ans, cette exposition servira de témoin du travail d’Amaral au cours de sa brillante carrière.

En intégrant parfaitement l’art, les techniques du tissage et le design dans les structures textiles de ses œuvres, Olga se sert de certains matériaux, qui vont de l’argent et la feuille d’or aux pigments colorés et le plâtre, tous se réfèrant au paysage et à l’histoire culturelle de la Colombie.

Parfois lumineuses, colorées, scintillantes et biomorphiques, d’autres fois opaques, obscures, absorbantes et géométriques, ces œuvres montrent la même capacité de créer la perception d’un espace infini trouvée dans les œuvres des peintres modernistes du siècle dernier, de Kandinsky et Malevitch à Reinhardt et Rothko.

L’art d’Olga de Amaral est mondialement reconnu et fait partie des collections des plus grands musées d’art contemporain, des entreprises et des collectionneurs privés. Amaral a exposé dans de nombreuses institutions à travers le monde et son travail est représenté dans les collections de plus de quarante musées, dont: The Art Institute of Chicago, le Museum of Modern Art et le Metropolitan Museum of Art de New York.

© David Atlan